Gone Rome-ing: day one

Well, I’ve made it to Rome, despite Monarch’s determination to stifle me by going bust.

In the end, I got easyJet out here and treated myself to the No1 Lounge at Gatwick to get me in the holiday mood. Probably wouldn’t bother again – limited food choices were only marginally balanced by free booze, but I’m not an alcy, so I could cope with out it. Maybe I was paying for the view?

FB_IMG_1507554654014

No in-flight entertainment with easyJet, of course – transatlantic travel has somewhat raised expectations đŸ’… – but I’d rented Blade Runner from Amazon so I can see the new one when I get back. Always thinking.

We got to Rome early, and while getting to the airport train was easy enough, you end up at the piss-stained rabbit warren of Roma Termini, which isn’t a place you want to hang about. Neither are the wrong exits at Spagna station too, as they take you out onto a duel carriageway with no pavement. If they had maps of above ground like they do on the Tube, that would be appreciated.

20171009_205046.jpg

Still, when I found civilisation, I really found it, at Porta Pinciana, which is relatively modern by the city’s standards (3rd-5th century), but it certainly started to feel like Rome.

The hotel itself is even more modern, fortunately – so much so, you actually get a phone you can use around town for sightseeing and the like, so that’s nice, ain’t it?

20171009_210232.jpg

It’ll get put to good use over the next for days, but for now, sleep.

Leave a Reply

